2023 Sport PEI Award Winners and Finalists Announced

sr finalists 23 awards

December 15th, 2023 will be another special night in Island sport as Sport PEI prepares to host our 50th annual awards at the Florence Simmons Performance Hall at 4PM. This evening will showcase the Island’s finest amateur sporting accomplishments from the year 2023. After an incredible year of sport across PEI, Canada, and the World, we are grateful to be able to recognize and celebrate so many outstanding Islanders.

Leading a strong field of athletes are the finalists for the Stewart McKelvey Senior Male and Female Athletes of the Year. The list includes: Mark Arendz (Para Biathlon & Cross-Country Ski), Brett Gallant (curling), Martin Sobey (Triathlon), Keegan Waite (Special Olympics Basketball), Amy Burk (Goalball), Alysha Corrigan (Rugby), Jenna Larter (Speed Skating), and Hannah Taylor (Wrestling).

Tickets are available for $10, please call 902-368-4110 or email jmcintosh@sportpei.pe.ca, or fill out this Google form!


Hear from our Executive Director, Gemma Koughan, as she speaks with Matt Rainnie on Mainstreet PEI!


Winners have been determined in the following categories:

ADL Volunteer Administrator of the Year: Duncan Crawford (Archery PEI)

PEI Mutual Insurance Official of the Year: Nicholas Desroche (Football PEI)

SCORE! Event of the Year: 2023 Canada Winter Games

True Sport Award: Sarah MacEachern

President’s Awards: Rickey Burns and Shirley Lank

Premier’s Award: ParaSport and Recreation PEI

CBC PEI Team of the Year: Team PEI’s Canada Games Ringette team

ADL Masters Athlete of the Year: Jeremy Wall (Special Olympics Athletics)

PEI Mutual Insurance Coach of the Year: Francois Caron (Ringette), Mark Quinn (Softball)


The full list of finalists is as follows:


Synergy Fitness & Nutrition Intercollegiate Male Athlete of the Year:

  • Joel Gallant (Cross Country)
  • Nick Robertson (Athletics)
  • Jack Ronahan (Badminton)
  • Zach Wilson (Athletics)


Synergy Fitness & Nutrition Intercollegiate Female Athlete of the Year:

  • Vanessa Keefe (Wrestling)
  • Maggie Mullins (Field Hockey)
  • Katie Murphy (Rugby)
  • Lexie Murphy (Hockey)


Ladner’s Source for Sports Junior Male Athlete of the Year:

  • Arden Hopkin (Archery)
  • Lucas MacDonald (Judo)
  • Keegan MacDougall (Swimming)
  • Cam Squires (Hockey)


Ladner’s Source for Sports Junior Female Athlete of the Year:

  • Natalie Caron (Ringette)
  • Vanessa Keefe (Wrestling)
  • Brooke MacArthur (Judo)
  • Keely MacGrath (Judo)


Stewart McKelvey Senior Male Athlete of the Year:

  • Mark Arendz (Para Biathlon & XC Ski)
  • Keegan Waite (Special Olympics Basketball)
  • Brett Gallant (Curling)
  • Martin Sobey (Triathlon)


Stewart McKelvey Senior Female Athlete of the Year:

  •  Amy Burk (Goalball)
  • Alysha Corrigan (Rugby)
  • Jenna Larter (Speed Skating)
  • Hannah Taylor (Wrestling)


Congratulations to all winners and finalists!


For more Information contact:

John McIntosh

Sport Coordinator, Sport PEI