Winners and Finalists Announced for the 2022 Sport PEI Awards

2020_Awards_Night (2)

December 16th, 2022 will be another special night in Island sport as Sport PEI prepares to host its 49th annual awards at the Florence Simmons Performance Hall at 4PM. This evening will showcase the Island’s finest amateur sporting accomplishments from the year 2022. After an incredible year of sport across PEI, Canada, and the World, we are grateful to be able to recognize and celebrate so many outstanding Islanders.

Leading a strong field of athletes are the finalists for the Cox & Palmer Senior Male and Female Athletes of the Year. The list includes: Mark Arendz (Para Biathlon & Cross-Country Ski), Billy Bridges (Para Ice-hockey), Brett Gallant (curling), Alysha Corrigan (Rugby), Amy Spence (Lawn Bowling), and Hannah Taylor (Wrestling).

If you would like to attend the ceremony, tickets are available for $10. Tickets can be paid for by e-transferring
Book your tickets here:


Winners have been determined in the following categories:

ADL Administrator of the Year: Nancy Russell (Rowing PEI)

PEI Mutual Insurance Official of the Year: Marc Gilman (Athletics PEI)

SCORE! Event of the Year: Canadian Outdoor Archery Championships

Inspiration Award: Jenna Larter (Speed Skate PEI)

President’s Awards: Susan Dalziel and Tim Murphy

Premier’s Award: Lacrosse PEI


The full list of finalists is as follows:

CBC Team of the Year:

  • PEIFC U15 girl’s soccer
  • UPEI Women’s Rugby
  • U15 Whitecaps softball


Synergy Fitness & Nutrition Intercollegiate Male Athlete of the Year:

  • Nick Robertson (Cross Country & Athletics)
  • Bailey Webster (Hockey)
  • Zach Wilson (Athletics)


Synergy Fitness & Nutrition Intercollegiate Female Athlete of the Year:

  • Bailey MacIsaac (Athletics)
  • Frances MacWilliam (Rugby)
  • Alexis Wood (Field Hockey)


ADL Masters Athlete of the Year:

  • Cory Jay (Cycling)
  • Jamie Morse (Archery)
  • Etta Reid and Elaine Hughes (Curling)


PEI Mutual Insurance Coach of the Year:

  • Janos Barna (Soccer)
  • Bradshaw Campbell and Matt MacGrath (Wrestling)
  • James Voye (UPEI Women’s Rugby)


Ladner’s Source for Sports Junior Male Athlete of the Year:

  • Keegan Crawford (Archery)
  • RJ Hetherington (Wrestling)
  • William Lyons (Speed Skating)


Ladner’s Source for Sports Junior Female Athlete of the Year:

  • Lauren Ferguson (Curling)
  • Vanessa Keefe (Wrestling)
  • Sarah MacEachern (Hockey)


Cox & Palmer Senior Male Athlete of the Year:

  • Mark Arendz (Para Biathlon & XC Ski)
  • Billy Bridges (Para Ice Hockey)
  • Brett Gallant (Curling)


Cox & Palmer Senior Female Athlete of the Year:

  • Alysha Corrigan (Rugby)
  • Amy Spence (Lawn Bowling)
  • Hannah Taylor (Wrestling)


Congratulations to all winners and finalists!


For more Information contact:

John McIntosh

Sport Coordinator, Sport PEI