Sport PEI Enjoys Great Night At Awards Banquet

Alberton’s Jeff Ellsworth was the big winner at the annual Sport PEI Awards Banquet held on February 3 at the Rodd Charlottetown Hotel.

Canada’s team captain in softball won the “grand slam” of awards – Senior Male Athlete of the Year, Bill Halpenny Award, and the Lieutenant Governor’s Award, following a 2015 in which he led his country to ISF World Championship, and Pan Am, gold medals.

Mount Herbert’s Shannon MacAulay was the Senior Female Athlete of the Year following a 2015 in which she made great strides with the Canadian Developmental Hockey Team, while the junior athlete awards were presented to Emma Jinks of Squash, and Martin Sobey of triathlon.

The evening was notable for a number of excellent reception speeches.

Scott Chandler spoke eloquently of fighting against the odds when he accepted his Inspiration Award, Masters athlete winner Tom Nicholls recalled his battle from a near death experience to go and win world medals, while Holland College Athletics Director Albert Roche spoke highly of the amateur sport system when he picked up the Premier’s Award on behalf of the Athletics Department.

Once again it was an enjoyable evening, made memorable by the professionalism of emcees JoAnne Holden and Matt Rainnie of CBC’s Island Morning, in addition to a stunning audio visual presentation from Pater Audio, Marquee Digital, and Stepping Stone Productions.

Photos from the evening can be found on the Sport PEI Facebook page  

Full list of winners:

Bell Aliant Senior Male Athlete of the Year – Jeff Ellsworth (Softball)

Bell Aliant Senior Female Athlete of the Year – Shannon MacAulay (Hockey)

Rodd Hotels & Resorts Junior Male Athlete of the Year – Martin Sobey (Triathlon)

Rodd Hotels & Resorts Junior Female Athlete of the Year – Emma Jinks (Squash)

SCORE! Team of the Year – Charlottetown Islanders (Baseball) 

ADL Masters Award – Tom Nicholls (Powerlifting)

ADL Administrator of the Year – Mike James (Ringette)

PEI Mutual Official of the Year –  Kent Walker (Baseball)

Intercollegiate Male Athlete of the Year – JP Stevenson (Baseball, Canisius College)

Intercollegiate Female Athlete of the Year – Veronica Keefe (Wrestling, Concordia)

PEI Mutual Coach of the Year – Judy Hale (Biathlon)

Inspiration Award – Scott Chandler (Gymnastics)

Lt Governor’s Award – Jeff Ellsworth

Bill Halpenny Award – Jeff Ellsworth

Premier’s Award for Sports Organization of the Year – Holland College Athletics Department

President’s Award for Outstanding Contribution – Jim Rand (Gymnastics)