48th annual Sport PEI Amateur Sport Awards

MarkArendz-medals_2022 (3)

Sport PEI hosted the 48th Annual Amateur Sport Awards on Thursday March 31st at the Confederation Centre of the Arts. The major award winner of the night was curler Brett Gallant, who won the Canadian Olympics trials with Team Gushue in November. Gallant was also a 2nd-team all-star with Team Gushue at the 2021 Brier. For his accomplishments, Brett was honoured as the Cox & Palmer Senior Male Athlete of the Year and the Lieutenant Governor Award winner. Brett was unable to attend in person, as he is currently competing in Las Vegas at the Curling World Championships, but was pleased to receive the Lieutenant Governor’s Award for a 4th time.

The Cox & Palmer Senior Female athlete of the year went to Alysha Corrigan, after becoming the first Islander to sign a professional rugby contract in England with the Saracens, while competing with Team Canada on the Rugby 7s and 15s teams.

The Ladner’s Source for Sports Junior Male athlete of the year went to Jordan Spence, after finishing his junior career as a 1st team all-star, finalist for QMJHL defenseman of the year, and a 2nd place finish in the league. Katie Shaw was named as the Ladner’s Source for Sports Junior Female athlete of the year, after winning the Canadian World Junior Qualifying event with Team Ladouceur, based out of Northern Ontario. Katie will represent Team Canada at the World Junior Championships in May.

The Synergy Fitness & Nutrition Intercollegiate Male and Female athletes of the year were awarded to TJ Shea and Ava Boutilier, respectively. Shea was the top scoring Islander in the AUS in 2021 with 16 points in 17 games, and was recently named captain of the UPEI Panthers. Boutilier became the all-time leader in saves for the University of New Hampshire Wildcats, was the team MVP, while also leading the team as captain for the 2021-22 season.


The winners list from the 2021 Sport P.E.I. awards:


Lt. Governor’s Award – Brett Gallant, Curling

Cox & Palmer Senior Female athlete of the year – Alysha Corrigan, Rugby

Cox & Palmer Senior Male athlete of the year – Brett Gallant, Curling

Ladner’s Source for Sports Junior Male athlete of the year – Jordan Spence, Hockey

Ladner’s Source for Sports Junior Female athlete of the year – Katie Shaw, Curling

Synergy Fitness & Nutrition Intercollegiate Male athlete of the year – TJ Shea, Hockey

Synergy Fitness & Nutrition Intercollegiate Female athlete of the year – Ava Boutilier, Hockey

CBC PEI Team of the year – Charlottetown Islanders Hockey Team

ADL Administrator of the year – Donnie MacFadyen, UPEI

PEI Mutual Coach of the year – Duncan Crawford, Archery

SCORE! Event of the year – U19 Eastern Canadian Softball Championships

Inspiration Award – Amber Metcalfe, Special Olympics Wellness Champion

ADL Masters Athlete of the year – Stan Chaisson, Long-distance running

PEI Mutual Official of the year – Janice Malcom, Lacrosse

Premier’s Award – PEI School Athletic Association

President’s Award – Garth Turtle, PEISAA

– Lea Rand, Gymnastics

Award of Honour – Mark Arendz, Para Nordic Biathlon & Cross Country Ski


We would like to thank our esteemed guests in attendance including, the honourable Antoinette Perry, the Lieutenant Governor of PEI, Department of Health and Wellness Minister Ernie Hudson, and the Mayor of Charlottetown, Philip Brown.


We would also like to thank our emcees, JoAnne Holden and Matt Rainnie! Thank you for always being there to help us recognize amateur sporting accomplishments on PEI!



For more Information contact:

John McIntosh

Sport Coordinator, Sport PEI