2022 Sport PEI Awards Nominations Open

2022 awards - newsletter

Sport PEI is excited to announce that we will be hosting our 2022 Amateur Sport Awards Banquet on December 16th, 2022 at the Florence Simmons Performance Hall.

Most years, our Annual Awards Banquet is scheduled for February. 2023 however, will be a unique year for PEI’s sports community, as we get ready to host Canada’s best athletes at the 2023 Canada Winter Games. Due to the excitement and preparation needed for the 2023 Canada Games, we have made the decision to move our Awards to December. We are looking forward to honouring the Island’s best and brightest from this year in December and hope you can join us!

December 16th will be another special night in Island sport as Sport PEI prepares to host its 49th annual awards at Holland College at the Florence Simmons Performance Hall. The evening will showcase the Island’s finest amateur sporting accomplishments from 2022. Nominations are open in several categories including: Senior, Junior, and Intercollegiate athletes of the year, Masters athlete of the year, Administrator of the year, Official of the year, Coach of the year, Team of the year, Event of the year, and the Inspiration Award.

After another strong year from our PEI athletes, coaches, officials, volunteers, and teams, we are very excited to receive nominations from the Island community. Deadline for nominations will be November 9th, 2022. We realize that more achievements may happen following the deadline for nominations, so special consideration will be made for those accomplishments.


To nominate an award winner, click here.


Last year’s winners included:

Lieutenant Governor’s Award: Brett Gallant (Curling)

Cox & Palmer Senior Male Athlete of the Year: Brett Gallant (Curling)

Cox & Palmer Senior Female Athlete of the Year: Alysha Corrigan (Rugby)

Ladner’s Source for Sports Junior Female Athlete of the Year: Katie Shaw (Curling)

Ladner’s Source for Sports Junior Male Athlete of the Year: Jordan Spence (Hockey)

Synergy Fitness & Nutrition Intercollegiate Female Athlete of the Year: Ava Boutilier (Hockey)

Synergy Fitness & Nutrition Intercollegiate Male Athlete of the Year: TJ Shea (Hockey)

ADL Administrator of the year: Donnie MacFadyen (UPEI)

PEI Mutual Insurance Official of the year: Janice Malcom (Lacrosse)

CBC Team of the year: Charlottetown Islanders Hockey Team

PEI Mutual Insurance Coach of the year: Duncan Crawford (Archery)

ADL Masters athlete of the year: Stan Chaisson (Long-distance running)

SCORE! Event of the year: U19 Eastern Canadian Softball Championships

Inspiration Award: Amber Metcalfe (Special Olympics)


For more Information contact:

John McIntosh

Sport Coordinator, Sport PEI