2021 Sport PEI Award Finalists Announced

2020_Awards_Night (2)

March 31st, 2022 will be another special night in Island sport as Sport PEI prepares to host its 48th annual awards at the Confederation Centre at 7PM. This evening will showcase the Island’s finest amateur sporting accomplishments from the year 2021. After a challenging year of sport across PEI, Canada, and the World, we are grateful to be able to recognize and celebrate so many outstanding Islanders.

Leading a strong field of athletes are the finalists for the Cox & Palmer Senior Male and Female Athletes of the Year. The list includes: Mark Arendz (Para Biathlon & Cross-Country Ski), Billy Bridges (Para Ice-hockey), Brett Gallant (curling), Alysha Corrigan (Rugby), Lauren Lenentine (Curling), and Hannah Taylor (Wrestling).

Tickets are available for $20, please call 902-368-4110 or email jmcintosh@sportpei.pe.ca for more information.


Winners have been determined in the following categories:

ADL Administrator of the Year: Donnie MacFadyen (UPEI Women’s Hockey)

PEI Mutual Insurance Official of the Year: Janice Malcom (Lacrosse)

ADL Masters Athlete of the Year: Stan Chaisson (Athletics)

PEI Mutual Insurance Coach of the Year: Duncan Crawford (Archery)

SCORE! Event of the Year: U19 Eastern Canadian Softball Championship

Inspiration Award: Amber Metcalfe (Special Olympian)

President’s Awards: Lea Rand and Garth Turtle (posthumously)


The full list of finalists is as follows:

CBC Team of the Year:

  • Charlottetown Islanders (Hockey)
  • U13 AAA Eastern Express (Baseball)
  • U12 AA Riptide Surfers (Softball)


Synergy Fitness & Nutrition Intercollegiate Male Athlete of the Year:

  • Nick Robertson (Cross Country)
  • TJ Shea (Hockey)
  • Ryan Steele (Hockey)


Synergy Fitness & Nutrition Intercollegiate Female Athlete of the Year:

  • Ava Boutilier (Hockey)
  • Jenna Mae Ellsworth (Basketball)
  • Emma Jinks (Squash)


Ladner’s Source for Sports Junior Male Athlete of the Year:

  • Luke Coughlin (Hockey)
  • William Lyons (Speed Skating)
  • Jordan Spence (Hockey)


Ladner’s Source for Sports Junior Female Athlete of the Year:

  • Sarah MacEachern (Hockey)
  • Rachael Phelan (Tennis)
  • Katie Shaw (Curling)


Cox & Palmer Senior Male Athlete of the Year:

  • Mark Arendz (Para Biathlon & XC Ski)
  • Billy Bridges (Para Ice Hockey)
  • Brett Gallant (Curling)


Cox & Palmer Senior Female Athlete of the Year:

  • Alysha Corrigan (Rugby)
  • Lauren Lenentine (Curling)
  • Hannah Taylor (Wrestling)


Congratulations to all winners and finalists!


For more Information contact:

John McIntosh

Sport Coordinator, Sport PEI