2018 Sport PEI Award Winners

Sport PEI hosted the 45th Annual Amateur Sport Awards on Tuesday, February 26 at the Florence Simmons Performance Hall.

The major award winner of the night was Hartsville’s Mark Arendz who competed in his third Paralympic Games in 2018 and was a dominant force for Canada. The Para Nordic skier took home six medals – the most medals ever won by a Canadian in a single Paralympic Winter Games – including one gold, two silver and three bronze. For his accomplishments, Mark was honoured as the Lieutenant Governor Award winner, the 3 Points Aviation Senior Male Athlete of the Year,  and a recipient of the Bill Halpenny Award.

https://www.cbc.ca/listen/live-radio/1-130-mainstreet-pei/clip/15673493-mark-arendz (then click continue)



CBC team of the Year, the Hunter’s Ale House Mudmen RFC had a year to remember.  Winning the McCudy Cup for the second year in a row and then defeating the Fredericton Loyalist 32-21 to win their first ever Caledonia Cup.  The Mudmen’s success in 2018 was a true testament of nearly 20 years of hard work from the club’s players and coaching staff.

PEI Rugby president Craig Inward had this to say about the evening, “PEI Rugby is humbled to be recognized by the Premier and Sport PEI as the Sport Organization of the Year. It was a great evening of celebration, and this was an unexpected honour. It comes on the heals of a very successful year for our athletes, clubs, volunteers and supporters. We are particularly proud of the recognition shown by Sport PEI to our members, Alysha Corrigan, Natalie Bulger, and The Mudmen Rugby Football Club, and we congratulate them on their awards. We are looking forward to a great 2019, and working closely with our Sport PEI partners.”


The winners from the 2018 Sport P.E.I. awards:

Lt. Governor’s Award – Mark Arendz, Para Nordic & Biathlon

3 Points Aviation Senior Female – Veronica Keefe, Wrestling

3 Points Aviation Senior Male – Mark Arendz, Para Nordic & Biathlon

D.P. Murphy Hotels Junior Male – Noah Dobson, Hockey

D.P. Murphy Hotels Junior Female – Hannah Taylor, Wrestling

Synergy Fitness & Nutrition Intercollegiate Male – John Patrick Stevenson, Baseball

Synergy Fitness & Nutrition Intercollegiate Female – Alysha Corrigan, Rugby

ADL Volunteer Administrator – Natalie Bulger, Rugby

PEI Mutual Insurance Coach – Peter Gallant, Curling

SCORE! Event – Special Olympics Canada Bowling Championship

ADL Masters Athlete – Steve Reeves, Ultra Running – https://www.cbc.ca/listen/live-radio/1-130-mainstreet-pei/clip/15669103-steve-reeves (then click continue)

PEI Mutual Insurance Official – Mike French, Softball

CBC PEI Team – Hunter’s Ale House Mudmen RFC

SETS Inspiration Award – Heather Moyse

Premier’s Award – PEI Rugby

President’s Award – Brenda Beaton, Ringette

Bill Halpenny Award – Billy Bridges, Para Hockey & Mark Arendz, Para Nordic & Biathlon


PCE Awards (medal achievement at a National or International multi-sport games)

Special Olympics Canada Games:

Teams: 10 Pin Bowling, Softball and Soccer




Teri Cudmore – athletics
Janet Charchuk & Jennifer Hickox – bocce
Kolton Doucette – powerlifting
Rachael Loggie – rhythmic gymnastics
Ellen MacNearney & Roy Paynter – swimming
Jenna Smith & Paul Phillips – 10 pin bowling
Kaitlyn MacKinnon, Degan Hackett, & Jonathan Watts – 5 pin bowling